Oatmeal for Anxiety

I kept sifting through the internet , and some of the natural healing books I have, for foods that have high levels of magnesium in them. The reason being is that magnesium has several beneficial aspects to it; first being that it can keep your immune system up to optimal levels, allow for proper nerve function throughout the body, keeps heart rate rhythm steady and it keeps bones strong. Now that I acquired a better understanding of what magnesium can do for me, I started looking for different foods and supplements that could help in that department.

The saving grace is that I came across a lot of dietary supplements that had just magnesium in it but I was looking for more natural approaches. I don’t know about you but I have a tendency to look for food and drink products before I settle for any kind of pill because you never know what else is in it. It’s a  good thing I did more extensive research into the matter because I came across a slew of foods that I could consume. I would just have to read the labels and make sure there was nothing that I was potentially allergic to.

Oatmeal kept coming up on all my searches as having one of the highest levels of magnesium in it. So, without a second’s hesitation, I went and got myself some oatmeal at the local supermarket. I couldn’t wait to open the box but before I started cooking it, I realized it was shared in a factory with all kinds peanuts, tree nuts etc. That is when my mother had told me that when I was younger she had me try oatmeal for a short period of time. She said it seemed to cause somewhat of an allergic reaction so that is why I stayed away from it for all these years. That being said, I didn’t take any chances and went back to the supermarket and looked for oatmeal that wasn’t manufactured in a nut factory. I have to say, for almost a month now of using it, that it has helped  my anxiety levels drop tremendously. The other added bonus is that my skin has had no allergic reactions to it either:)) Like the old adage goes, “If you get a second chance, grab it with both hands. If it changes your life, let it. Nobody said life would be easy, they just promised it would be worth it.

Tags: , , , , ,

About wartica

Hello world, my name is Jon Waters, and I look forward to connecting with everyone I possibly can along this journey:) I’m an aspiring author/blogger that has put together an autobiographical piece about how I recently overcame a lifelong battle with five severe issues: chronic skin issues, weight problems, depression, anger, and anxiety. With the help of natural healing, martial arts, and becoming an organic vegetarian, I have now found ways to mitigate and completely cleanse myself of these ongoing obstacles and hurdles.The premise of putting this book together is to reach out to people with the same, or similar, conditions; this way they can find healthier, safer alternative as I did.Conventional, western medicine, relies primarily on using shots, creams,and pills for everything under the sun; the problem with relying heavily on these approaches is that they are loaded with harmful chemicals, toxins, and steroids–that can’t be a good thing! Besides the writing, I’m a real piece of work and try to always laugh at myself–kind of like how Jerry Seinfeld did in his timeless classic of a show! Also, I enjoy living a highly active and extremely healthy lifestyle. Here are some of the activities that get me going: traditional shaolin kung-fu, hiking, surfing, skating,Tai chi, Qigong, meditation, yoga, skiing, kayaking, being with family and friends, and a whole lot more. I’m also very open to new, practical societal alternatives to a better life for all people; the resource-based economy suggestion is one of the best ways to turn around our current system of doing things, and I highly suggest checking it out:) Until next time my friends, and fellow writers, --Jon Waters

7 responses to “Oatmeal for Anxiety”

  1. lorelei tilton says :

    $author you have an awesome blog.

    • wartica says :

      Thank you so much Lorelei, it truly means a lot :). I will be putting related blog posts about similar topics at least once a week. I will definitely check out your blog as well so we can stay connected. Thanks again friend!!

  2. Elizabeth says :

    Wow, thanks so much for this tip! I am gluten itolerant and vegan, so I have limited oatmeal options, but I will have to check to see if the ones that I eat have a high level of magnesium in them, because I am currently learning how to manage my anxiety disorders. If eating oatmeal will help me in the process, I may have to increase how often I consume it. 🙂

    • wartica says :

      I hope there is some kind of alternative out there; I would search the internet for something similar. I haven’t seen the movie yet but after your suggestion, I’m definitely going to check it out:)) I have never been dissapointed by any form of yoga, especially the hot yoga. I think you would love it:)) Thanks again for the tips and comments!!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Daily Healthy Oatmeal Breakfast Recipes | RoseCityRemona - January 11, 2012

Leave a Reply

