Say Goodbye to Anxiety and Anger With A Few Deep Breaths!!

We all get worked up, or anxious, from time to time. There is no definitive way of escaping this but  how we go about making it better is the question that needs answering. When I was in school, I never really knew how to deal with my temper tantrums, rapid hearts, shakes etc. Whenever there was a situation, considered awkward in my mind, I would do everything to avoid them at all costs. It only took me one time and if I felt totally uncomfortable, I would tell myself to never get involved in those situations going forward. Awkward situations for me included things like being around highly attractive girls, a lot of people at one time, or even when I had to answer a question in front of my fellow classmates.

Whatever the reason was for my nervousness or anger, during those times listed above, I didn’t know how to calm myself inside and out. A little over five years ago, when I started practicing Tai Chi, Qigong, and stillness mediation, I finally learned how to channel my nerves. It was all through a simple technique that keeps all humans functioning…breathing. It’s kind of funny because my parents and friends would always tell me to “take a deep breath” , when they saw me getting somewhat agitated. When I was younger, I had a tendency of being hard-headed and stubborn.  I never truly understood the importance of taking a breath and how it could truly calm me down.  Who knew that doing some simple breathing could give me that momentary relaxation I needed to handle most “nerve-wracking”  situations. It has also helped  in the past couple years, especially when I worked in a sales job. Anytime the customer would get angry, I would remind myself to “just breath” and that two or three deep breaths helped me stay absolutely calm. There is nothing truly like a quality breath:))))

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About wartica

Hello world, my name is Jon Waters, and I look forward to connecting with everyone I possibly can along this journey:) I’m an aspiring author/blogger that has put together an autobiographical piece about how I recently overcame a lifelong battle with five severe issues: chronic skin issues, weight problems, depression, anger, and anxiety. With the help of natural healing, martial arts, and becoming an organic vegetarian, I have now found ways to mitigate and completely cleanse myself of these ongoing obstacles and hurdles.The premise of putting this book together is to reach out to people with the same, or similar, conditions; this way they can find healthier, safer alternative as I did.Conventional, western medicine, relies primarily on using shots, creams,and pills for everything under the sun; the problem with relying heavily on these approaches is that they are loaded with harmful chemicals, toxins, and steroids–that can’t be a good thing! Besides the writing, I’m a real piece of work and try to always laugh at myself–kind of like how Jerry Seinfeld did in his timeless classic of a show! Also, I enjoy living a highly active and extremely healthy lifestyle. Here are some of the activities that get me going: traditional shaolin kung-fu, hiking, surfing, skating,Tai chi, Qigong, meditation, yoga, skiing, kayaking, being with family and friends, and a whole lot more. I’m also very open to new, practical societal alternatives to a better life for all people; the resource-based economy suggestion is one of the best ways to turn around our current system of doing things, and I highly suggest checking it out:) Until next time my friends, and fellow writers, --Jon Waters

6 responses to “Say Goodbye to Anxiety and Anger With A Few Deep Breaths!!”

  1. Angles of Secrets says :

    Breathing has saved my life many times. I mean the act of actually taking in a breath in a moment when you feel like you’re about to die. Thank you for this post. I look forward to reading more of your posts.

  2. Holysheep Skin says :

    Been trying to teach my anxiety ridden son breathing techniques….good reading here, thanks!

    • wartica says :

      Thanks for the feedback, breathing is definitely a start but I have to say that oatmeal really did the trick for me b/c of the high levels of magnesium.

  3. inspiredhealthcoach says :

    Jon,
    I stopped by to say thanks for subscribing to my blog and ended up reading your posts. Good stuff!
    I teach breathing techniques as part of my stress program. It’s amazing to watch how perfectly an infant belly breathes, but we “lose” that natural tendency as we get older. Deep breathing changes our ability to handle anything!
    Keep sharing…
    Jan

    • wartica says :

      Thanks for the kinds words, Jan; your blog is great as well. My martial arts instructor says the same things about when we were infants and how we lose touch with our internal “source”, so to speak, as we get older. There is nothing better than a full body breath by utilizing more oxygen to the lungs.Thanks again and please do the same:))

Leave a Reply

