Food really does matter!

Over the past few years, there has been an abundance of documentaries focusing on what humans are putting inside their bodies. Thanks to the help of the internet, I have come across a slew of these kinds of films. There was none more informative than, “Food Matters”, that was released back in 2008. What I think puts this film apart from the others, especially for me, is that it focuses on the need to stop relying on pills, shots and creams for every problem. It was good to hear that because the Western culture has become a tad bit pill happy as of late. There seems to be pills for just about everything imaginable, even for things like having fun and laughing too much. There is a definitely a time and place for those kinds of approaches but not for chronic, lifelong issues.  Throughout the roughly hour and a half movie, you start to see that all the interviewees come to the same conclusions…proper nutrition and exercise is the key to a healthy life. It seems like a rather simplistic notion but how many people truly understand what that really means?

The other parts of the film went on to talk about how our food is being cultivated.  How many people are aware that a good portion of the fruits and vegetables, in all the major supermarkets, are being sprayed with synthetic chemicals, pesticides and herbicides. I didn’t realize that until I saw this movie and I’m glad that I found out now and not later.

According to the Organic Valley website,  a good number of  pesticides are known to pose significant, acknowledged health risks to people—including birth defects, damage to the nervous system; disruption of hormones and endocrine systems; respiratory disorders; skin and eye irritations; and various types of cancers.

  • Exposure to persistent organic pollutants through diet has been linked to breast and other types of cancer, immune system suppression, nervous system disorders, reproductive damage, and disruption of hormonal systems.1
  • Male Reproductive Development: Hormone-disrupting chemicals in commercial pesticides have been linked to testicular cancer and low sperm counts in men, and to birth defects in baby boys.2
  • Public health costs associated with pesticide-related acute poisonings and cancer alone, add up to an estimated $1.1 billion dollars per year.3
  • Parkinson’s disease has been linked to pesticide exposure. 4

Organic Valley goes on to state that organic growers use biological and cultural practices to handle pests, including  crop rotation, the selection of resistant varieties, nutrient and water management, the provision of habitat for the natural enemies of pests, and release of beneficial organisms to protect crops from damage. A few years back, when I first saw this amazing documentary, I started to shop at specific grocery stores and only looked for the organic labels. They might cost a little more but my thinking is that I would rather put something in my body that does more good than harm.

All in all, I highly recommend this film for anyone and everyone. Even making minor changes in your diet might be all you need to feel better in the long run. I leave you with this timeless quote,

“Isn’t it a bit unnerving that doctors call what they do “practice”?”
George Carlin

References

  1. “Nowhere to Hide: Persistent Toxic Chemicals in the U.S. Food Supply,” by Kristin Schafer, Pesticide Action Network North America, 2000 (www.panna.org).
  2. Sharpe, Richard. “Men under threat: The decline in male reproductive health and the potential role of exposure to chemicals during in-utero development.” Briefing by ChemTrust: http://www.chemtrust.org.uk/Press_and_Media.php
  3. “Promoting Sustainable Food Systems through Organic Agriculture: Past, Present and Future,” Christine McCullum-Gomez, C., and Riddle, J. HEN Post: Hunger and Environmental Nutrition Practice Group of the American Dietetic Association, Spring 2009. www.hendpg.org
  4. Costello, et al., “Parkinson’s Disease and Residential Exposure to Maneb and Paraquat From Agricultural Applications in the Central Valley of California,” AMerican Journal of Epidemiology, published January
  5. http://www.organicvalley.coop/why-organic/pesticides

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About wartica

Hello world, my name is Jon Waters, and I look forward to connecting with everyone I possibly can along this journey:) I’m an aspiring author/blogger that has put together an autobiographical piece about how I recently overcame a lifelong battle with five severe issues: chronic skin issues, weight problems, depression, anger, and anxiety. With the help of natural healing, martial arts, and becoming an organic vegetarian, I have now found ways to mitigate and completely cleanse myself of these ongoing obstacles and hurdles.The premise of putting this book together is to reach out to people with the same, or similar, conditions; this way they can find healthier, safer alternative as I did.Conventional, western medicine, relies primarily on using shots, creams,and pills for everything under the sun; the problem with relying heavily on these approaches is that they are loaded with harmful chemicals, toxins, and steroids–that can’t be a good thing! Besides the writing, I’m a real piece of work and try to always laugh at myself–kind of like how Jerry Seinfeld did in his timeless classic of a show! Also, I enjoy living a highly active and extremely healthy lifestyle. Here are some of the activities that get me going: traditional shaolin kung-fu, hiking, surfing, skating,Tai chi, Qigong, meditation, yoga, skiing, kayaking, being with family and friends, and a whole lot more. I’m also very open to new, practical societal alternatives to a better life for all people; the resource-based economy suggestion is one of the best ways to turn around our current system of doing things, and I highly suggest checking it out:) Until next time my friends, and fellow writers, --Jon Waters

13 responses to “Food really does matter!”

  1. amylleblanc says :

    Great post! If you haven’t read Michael Pollan’s “In Defence of Food” you most definitely should! 🙂

    • wartica says :

      Thanks Amy, it means a lot:)) I actually read that book about a year ago, it was truly amazing. Anything Michael Pollan puts together is always top notch caliber.

  2. ohiocook says :

    Good Post! Thank you for the “Like” on my post and for following!

  3. msjenniferwalker says :

    I totally agree. I’ve been around the Western medical ringer in the past couple of years, That’s why all my changes have to do with what I eat, how much I move and my environment in my Year of the Detox blog. Thanks for stopping by my blog and for the nice comment. I’ll be following yours as well.
    Cheers!!!

  4. Alexa Organics says :

    Thank you for the informative post! I will definitely be checking out that film. As someone with young children as well as a family history of cancer, I am very interested in living as chemical-free as possible–starting with the food we eat! Thanks again 🙂

    • wartica says :

      Thank you Alexa:)) I try to live as chemical free because of my skin issues but most of all, I don’t want to put toxic foods and drinks in my body. Have a great time with the family this weekend:))

  5. gettingitsorted says :

    Great post – has definitely added to my reading list. I am currently trying to get pregnant and have a new focus on my own health, and all those ‘alternatives’ out there, so I look forward to hearing more from you 🙂

  6. Elizabeth says :

    Thanks for this amazing post! If you haven’t seen the movie “Forks Over Knives” yet, you should check it out because you might enjoy it. 🙂

  7. istayinshape says :

    Good one. Too many people still believe in pills. I know, there’s a place for them, but a healthy diet and exercise should eliminate most.

Leave a Reply

