Meditation made the easy way!!

When people  first think of meditating, they usually associate it with having to sit upright with your legs crossed over one another. That is then followed by us taking our middle finger and connecting it with our thumb, as our hands rest on our knees. We will then start chanting something along the lines of, hummmmmmmmmmm, for several minutes. That is what most of us perceive as the “proper” way to meditate.

That is exactly what I thought meditation was before I started my Shaolin Arts training. I have started to learn, over the past five and a half years, that there is much more to meditating than just sitting Indian style on the floor. Shi Gung Gregg Zilb, my head martial arts instructor, has taught me that there are a number of ways to truly meditate. Believe it or not, you can actually meditate by just lying flat on the ground, in your bed or on the floor. The position almost resembles a snow angel that you make outside when you’re younger . Nine out of ten times, I will  meditate right before bed in the lying flat position. It is one of my favorite ways to center myself before catching up on some zzzz’s.

In Tai Chi/Qigong classes, we also do what My teacher refers to as moving meditations. The main premise is to work on building chi, or energy, throughout the body while we are moving forward. My Shi Gung has also shown me how to even meditate while I’m standing straight up. After a few times of doing it standing, I went through some natural healing books that I have and they all say the same thing ,as what my teacher always says, that standing meditations are one of the best ways to meditate. Not only are you training your mind and spirit but your body is getting quite a workout and I can totally attest to that. After just ten minutes of standing, I will start to feel my legs and shoulders shaking like I’m doing some awkward dance maneuver or something.

There are other ways to meditate and focus your minds without having to technically sit and “meditate”, so to speak. Sometimes when I’m writing, especially at the current moment, I get so focused on what I’m doing  that I feel I can write for days on end without stopping even for a second. Nothing distracts me and I just keep going and going. I also started to see the connection musicians make with their instruments they’re playing.  They become so connected, and in tune, with that they’re doing that nothing can deter them. A good example of that is when Jimi Hendrix was doing his set at Woodstock ’69, also one of the most memorable performances in rock n’ roll history, where it seemed like he was so preoccupied with what he was doing that nothing could take his concentration away from his guitar during his entire set.

So, all in all, there are a slew of ways to feel connected and relaxed without having to be a so-called, avid “meditator.” In the case that you’re looking for a quality top notch caliber school in the Long Island area, then check out, http://www.shaolinlohan.com. You will not be disappointed and it will hopefully become addictive like a drug but a good, healthy one of course. I guarantee you will want to keep coming back for more and more 🙂

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About wartica

Hello world, my name is Jon Waters, and I look forward to connecting with everyone I possibly can along this journey:) I’m an aspiring author/blogger that has put together an autobiographical piece about how I recently overcame a lifelong battle with five severe issues: chronic skin issues, weight problems, depression, anger, and anxiety. With the help of natural healing, martial arts, and becoming an organic vegetarian, I have now found ways to mitigate and completely cleanse myself of these ongoing obstacles and hurdles.The premise of putting this book together is to reach out to people with the same, or similar, conditions; this way they can find healthier, safer alternative as I did.Conventional, western medicine, relies primarily on using shots, creams,and pills for everything under the sun; the problem with relying heavily on these approaches is that they are loaded with harmful chemicals, toxins, and steroids–that can’t be a good thing! Besides the writing, I’m a real piece of work and try to always laugh at myself–kind of like how Jerry Seinfeld did in his timeless classic of a show! Also, I enjoy living a highly active and extremely healthy lifestyle. Here are some of the activities that get me going: traditional shaolin kung-fu, hiking, surfing, skating,Tai chi, Qigong, meditation, yoga, skiing, kayaking, being with family and friends, and a whole lot more. I’m also very open to new, practical societal alternatives to a better life for all people; the resource-based economy suggestion is one of the best ways to turn around our current system of doing things, and I highly suggest checking it out:) Until next time my friends, and fellow writers, --Jon Waters

26 responses to “Meditation made the easy way!!”

  1. Mary Reale says :

    My goal is meditation to help the grieving the death of my husband.

  2. Kevin Leland says :

    I’m Catholic. I pray the Rosary, daily. It’s 20 minutes of very focused meditation. The repetitive prayer is like music, or mantra, or even silence that allows me to hear what worldly distractions normally blocks out. I’ve done martial arts type meditation as well as other Eastern forms, and “occultish” (sorry, God) ways of meditating. The Rosary, Blessed John Paul’s favorite prayer, is the form I find to be the most enlightening.

    Adding the practice of fasting to meditation can really supercharge the spiritual experience. I’ve done this a few times in my life, and it was nothing short of amazing.

    Great Post!

    Kevin

    • wartica says :

      Thanks Kevin, your feedback means a lot to me:) I also feel the same way when I’m meditating and doing tai chi because it’s always a new experience. I always feel refreshed and ready to go right after. Have a good time with your family and friends this weekend:))

  3. Katherine Gordy Levine says :

    I drected a mental health crisis team in the South Bronx. Kids who returned to visit, said what helped them most were our breathing exercises. thank you for this.

    • wartica says :

      That is great to hear, Katherine. Breathing is definitely a start to learning how to calm, not only the body, but the mind as well. Thanks again for the feedback and enjoy your weekend with family and friends:))

  4. Stuff My Brain Thinks says :

    Great article. I also love to meditate. I have found that after practicing meditation it became something I could do while sitting at my desk or in my rocker at home, with eyes wide open.

    I feel so rejuvenated when I am finished. I used to think it was something you needed to be alone to do or to have complete silence. Not true, we are all able to step outside of ourselves at anytime with practice.

    • wartica says :

      Thanks a lot:)) I totally agree; there are so many ways to get your meditation in gear. I tried to meditate at my work desk and I ended up passing out lol but I’ll keep striving!!

  5. thehomeheart says :

    I wish you the best of luck in writing your book. You have a lot of great advice and information for other people who will definitely benefit from it- me included. I look forward to reading more.

  6. msjenniferwalker says :

    I have tried to meditate numerous times in the stereotypical way you described and it totally did not work for me, my mind got so bored. But I like that you say about the writing. I feel so relaxed when I am writing, especially when it is something I am passionate about. So maybe I really AM meditating and I didn’t even know it.
    Thanks!

    • wartica says :

      My martial arts instructor says sitting meditations is the hardest thing to master. Sometimes , I’m totally into it and other times, not so much. I’m just glad there is other ways to go about meditating:)) Thanks Jennifer:)))

  7. Sandra Madeira says :

    I try to meditate daily but usually only sit or lay down. It’s great to hear about the other ways. Thanks Sandra

  8. RoseCityRemona says :

    I’m wondering if meditation can help me with my disassociation which is, basically, the opposite of meditation – coming unfocused? Hmmmmmmmmm…a new mindfulness skill to help?

    Thank you for the information,
    RoseCityRemona

  9. Blood-Ink-Diary says :

    Wonderful post! Thank you for visiting my blog and your lovely comment – through which I have now discovered your blog! Keep in touch! Continue writing on your blog! Cheers.

  10. meexio says :

    I ditto about the writing part. Sometimes I will literally have to force myself out of the hair to do something or push off eating because I’m so caught up with words floating around lol. But I do like this post and agree that many people take meditation the wrong way. I LOVE my bed for this, it’s where all the creative energy comes out.

  11. 6bysixty says :

    This is very interesting to me. i have struggled with meditation but I keep trying hoping that one day it will click for me. I just keep trying to do a little bit at a time and gradually (I hope) it will get easier and longer.

  12. Kris says :

    You’re doing Shaolin training? Sweet! I’ve always wanted to do that. My only problem with martial arts training is I don’t like hitting or getting hit. But, it’s so badass. Ha ha! Nice to connect here with you.

  13. Jay Rando says :

    Great read. I am definitely going to get round to doing meditation. I have always thought of going to one of those Buddhist places where you go for a few days and practice meditation etc. Would you describe meditation as doing something passionately but being relaxed at the same time? I too get those moments where i’m so into my writing that nothing distracts and i just want to put my writing energy onto paper like a passion.

Leave a Reply

