New “Life” Resolution…

I just want to start off by wishing everyone a happy new year; hope you had a great time with your family and friends. I got to thinking, a few days back, of certain things I could improve about myself for the coming year. After I wrote a list out, of things I want to accomplish, I started to realize I want to do things differently this time around. I didn’t want to just go gung-ho for the first month and then slowly fall off track, like I’ve always done each year prior. I wanted to, not only keep on track with my goals, but I also wanted to maintain that focus for the rest of my days here.

The things, I wanted most to improve on, were mainly my overall health and eating habits. So, what I did differently this time around was write down all the things I need to work on. After I was done with my list, I made a copy of it and hung it up in my room.The premise for that approach is that I will be reminded daily on the goals I set for myself. I came up with about twenty goals that I feel need some vast improvement on my part. The other decision I came to was at any time I feel I need to add something to the improvement list; I will just go ahead and do that.

In other words, if I feel I need to work on something, and I figure this out in May or June, I won’t wait until the following year to write that down as a resolution; it will be added to my list on that exact day. I’ve just gotten to the point that I need to stay focused no matter what time, day, week or month it is. In turn, I know there might be some bumps in the road but like Rocky Balboa said, “Why do we fall? So we can get back up.” Thanks to the words of wisdom by Sylvester Stallone, I will approach every single day like that going forward. The most important thing is if I do go off course for a day, I will immediately jump back the next day like nothing happened. In the past, if went off my diet for a day or two, it might take me a week to get back on track; no more of that on my watch :))

I WILL STAY FOCUSED…I WILL STAY FOCUSED…I WILL STAY FOCUSED.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About wartica

Hello world, my name is Jon Waters, and I look forward to connecting with everyone I possibly can along this journey:) I’m an aspiring author/blogger that has put together an autobiographical piece about how I recently overcame a lifelong battle with five severe issues: chronic skin issues, weight problems, depression, anger, and anxiety. With the help of natural healing, martial arts, and becoming an organic vegetarian, I have now found ways to mitigate and completely cleanse myself of these ongoing obstacles and hurdles.The premise of putting this book together is to reach out to people with the same, or similar, conditions; this way they can find healthier, safer alternative as I did.Conventional, western medicine, relies primarily on using shots, creams,and pills for everything under the sun; the problem with relying heavily on these approaches is that they are loaded with harmful chemicals, toxins, and steroids–that can’t be a good thing! Besides the writing, I’m a real piece of work and try to always laugh at myself–kind of like how Jerry Seinfeld did in his timeless classic of a show! Also, I enjoy living a highly active and extremely healthy lifestyle. Here are some of the activities that get me going: traditional shaolin kung-fu, hiking, surfing, skating,Tai chi, Qigong, meditation, yoga, skiing, kayaking, being with family and friends, and a whole lot more. I’m also very open to new, practical societal alternatives to a better life for all people; the resource-based economy suggestion is one of the best ways to turn around our current system of doing things, and I highly suggest checking it out:) Until next time my friends, and fellow writers, --Jon Waters

46 responses to “New “Life” Resolution…”

  1. Elizabeth says :

    That sounds like a great way to achieve your goals! I have both heard and read many times that writing down your goals is exponential in being able to achieve them. I have my goals written down,but I think I need to hang up so I can see them regularly. Great idea! I wish you the best of luck! But, I don’t think you need it, because I have faith you can do it! 🙂

  2. losing2win says :

    I think it’s great to add them as you go. Why wait? It’s not like if a drain gets clogged we wait 6 months to add it to the list of “home repairs to do next year”.

    By the way, do I know you from somewhere? You look really familiar.

    -Bri

    • wartica says :

      I totally agree; if there is something I need to improve on, why should I wait until the next “calendar” year to get going. I’m not sure, are you from the Long Island area?

  3. redheadjourney says :

    That is the biggest issue that most people have; sticking to their goals year round. I have a few suggestions (that you may or may not have tried before) that you might find helpful. One is to make an unbreakable appointment with yourself once a week. Get a small planner and literally write it down, and have it be the number one priority (YOU!). During this appointment you will spend 1-2 hours going over and reflecting (perhaps journaling–but from an objective standpoint, not judgmental) how your work went, what worked, and what didn’t. If you didn’t keep promises and appointments with yourself, analyze why not, the consequences of that action, and how you could do things differently. Do the same for things that you DID do for yourself as well. And then take that time to plan out your week, scheduling in 3 things each week that will go towards your goals.

    I suggest to start it all off, have a piece of paper (or two) for each of your goals..perhaps have a folder or binder for all of this. One each paper write the goal in the present tense, and then brainstorm different “welcoming” acts towards that goal. For instance, if you wanted to buy a new car, you might write down, “buy newspaper.” That could be to browse the car ads, the job ads, whatever. But break it down so that the action step is small enough that you WILL do do it and can finish it in a small and reasonable amount of time. (So don’t write projects down….like if your goal was to clean your entire house, you wouldn’t say “organize office” but rather “clean out top desk drawer.” Real tangible tasks that are towards the goals but not overwhelming or “heavy.”

    Also throughout the year you could set up quarter meetings with yourself that are a little longer than your weekly meetings to check in how the past three months went, maybe look at your goals and readjust as needed, etc.

    Anyway, just a few ideas you might find helpful!

    • wartica says :

      Thanks for all the suggestions; I will definietly get a journal together and check my progress periodically. Putting it the way you did could really help me personalize what I’m doing. Thanks again :))

  4. Fit4You says :

    Sounds like you are going to be busy! What a great idea to write the goals down. It is a fact that one is much more likely to be successful if one writes them down. Doing it with a friend so you have someone to be accountable to helps aswell. Feel free to join my facebook event for a place to brag about successes or get help with troubles, or just be accountable. Check it out if you would like http://www.facebook.com/events/217431131676439/

    E

    • wartica says :

      Thanks Elisabeth; having friends that are supportive is always a plus. I will definitely check out the Facebook page, thanks for letting me know:))

  5. buffywood says :

    How is your list coming John? I spend so much time on my computer, haviing it as my wallpaper has really helped. Plus seeing the list reminds me to step away from my computer more frequently.

    My first week of the New Year was not the greatest but like you said… self improvement is a continual process, there is no set start time or end time and I vow that this week will be better than the last.

  6. davidisfat says :

    Good luck with your goals, and thanks for following along with my blog. I’ll be reading yours as well.

    Kindest regards,
    David

  7. Barbara @ Just Another Manic Mommy says :

    nice post and LOVE the quote 🙂

  8. namitalad says :

    hey almost same story 🙂

  9. susielindau says :

    Focus!! Yes I need to do that too! Instead I am here reading your blog! Hahaha! Good luck to you and your goals this year~ : D

  10. middleagedplague says :

    Yo, Adrian!

    Your idea to hit things as they come, and not lump everything into January of this year or next, is superb. Change is hard enough as it is; I find just one little thing is enough to keep me busy for a goodly amount of time. Guess that’s where knitting comes in handy — no matter how fast you do it, it’s really not that fast, but it’s the doing it every day that results in the finished sweater.

    Thank you for visiting Middle Aged Plague and Liking the tofu article. I highly recommend NOT incorporating tofu chocolate pudding into your eating style. The Thai food is ever so much better.

    • wartica says :

      Hahah, yes…a fellow Rocky fanatic.Thanks a lot for the kind words; you’re blog posts are very well put together. I will definitely try out the Thai suggestion very soon 🙂

  11. tyedyechick0930 says :

    Hey, thanks for commenting on my post. Looks like we’re both on the journey of improvement. We may have different goals but we both have to stay focused 🙂 Enjoyed the post. I’ll keep checking in with you to make sure you’re still focused.

  12. dointhegratefuldance says :

    I enjoyed your blog! I, too, like the idea of adding new goals as we go. I just never thought of it that way. So glad you you did:) Thanks! Sharon

  13. Byron says :

    I especially like the idea about not waiting until next January to add a change. Good luck in 2012.

  14. Gems says :

    It’s good to have a visual reminder of your goals to help you focus on them. How are you doing with them so far?

  15. Tiffany says :

    Great Post! 🙂

  16. figgylily says :

    Woohoo! Good luck with your goals hon! You can do this!we can do this!

  17. adlevine says :

    take baby steps! one goal at a time i find has the best success rate!

  18. AnitaAnswers says :

    You mentioned two things that drive goal success: 1) having a mantra or “welcoming acts” to positively guide your end result focus and 2) flexibility. Considering goal markers, which are interim check-in points, is a real great idea.

    I applaud you!

  19. readytochangenow says :

    I agree – sometimes failing just helps us discover what doesn’t work.

  20. accordingtoleanne says :

    It’s great to see someone putting out positive material and in a stylish way. Thanks for the blog, will be following!

  21. seelyaprofits says :

    Very interesting post i agree and it is always best to work on things you need to change or add when ever possible,if you have to wait until the start of a new year,might never be done. Keep up the great work.

  22. gincoolette says :

    Don’t we all have resolutions? I m trying to stick to mine too and having a blog really helps!!! Good luck

  23. creativenessed says :

    Seems like a great idea! I might try that out starting right now! Often when I think of goals I want to achieve it never gets further than the thinking process! Writing ones goals down and remind oneself about them EVERYDAY may actually make it accomplished someday! How’s it working out for you?

    Great post!

  24. 60daylifechanger says :

    Great post! I found myself thinking, quite like you, things need to change for the better. I thought I need to live a healthier more meaningful life, and that’s why I began my journey of “insanity.” It was decided, this is my first step to changing everything. Good luck with all your goals, and once you have obtained them all set higher ones. Never stop pushing, complacency is devastating.

    • wartica says :

      Thanks for the inspirational words; I will do just that because one of the greatest things my martial arts training has taught me – never settle because you always have things that need to be worked on:))

Leave a Reply

